Indiana Jones Pulled the Trigger. Does the Museum Get a Defense?

Raiders of the Lost Ark puts the CGL occurrence requirement, reasonable force and the duty to defend under the spotlight.

By Erik Leeming | Professional Insurance Foundation | Know The Policy™

A swordsman steps forward. Indiana Jones reaches for his gun. The confrontation is over almost before it begins.

The insurance discussion takes longer.

Suppose the dead man’s family sues the museum that sent Jones on the expedition. Would the museum’s CGL insurer have to defend it?

“He shot deliberately, so there’s no coverage” skips part of the analysis. “The museum didn’t shoot, so it gets a defense” skips another part.

The useful answer begins with the museum’s own position, then works through the coverage grant before turning to exclusions.

Our fictional museum claim

Let’s say a museum employs Jones to retrieve the Ark of the Covenant. It authorizes the trip, pays his expenses and expects the Ark to enter its collection. During an overseas marketplace confrontation, an armed man brandishes a sword and advances toward Jones. Jones deliberately shoots and kills him.

In our insurance scenario, the family sues both Jones and the museum in the United States, alleging that he acted within the scope of employment and that the museum is responsible. The museum tenders to its CGL carrier.

The scene comes from Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981). The employment arrangement, insurance, lawsuit and tender are educational assumptions. We use ISO CG 00 01 04 13 as a contemporary teaching form, not a policy from the film’s historical setting.

First identify whose coverage you are evaluating

The museum is asking for a defense. That requires its own analysis. A possible coverage problem for Jones does not, by itself, decide the museum’s tender.

The form’s Separation Of Insureds condition matters here. So does the expected-or-intended injury exclusion’s reference to the standpoint of the insured. But separate treatment does not erase the initial coverage requirements.

Before asking whether an exclusion applies, ask whether the claim potentially comes within the coverage grant. Under Coverage A, that includes an occurrence. The form defines an occurrence as an accident.

The occurrence requirement cannot be skipped

For this claim file, we use California coverage law as an illustration. We are not deciding which jurisdiction would govern an actual museum’s policy.

In Delgado v. Interinsurance Exchange, the California Supreme Court held that an unreasonable belief in a need for self-defense did not turn a purposeful, injury-producing assault into an accident under the homeowners policy before it. That case does not decide our museum’s CGL tender. It does show why simply saying “self-defense” does not finish the occurrence analysis.

The museum’s alleged conduct also matters. In Liberty Surplus v. Ledesma & Meyer, the court recognized that an employer’s own negligent hiring, retention or supervision could produce an accidental injury from the employer’s position even though its employee acted intentionally.

There is a meaningful distinction between alleging that an employer negligently contributed to an injury and holding it responsible solely because its employee acted within the scope of employment. Our original scenario expressly supplies the latter. It does not expressly allege independent museum negligence.

We should not invent a negligence count just to reach a cleaner answer. The actual complaint and known facts need to establish that potential. Even adding the word “negligent” does not change what the alleged conduct actually was.

What about reasonable force

The expected-or-intended injury exclusion contains an exception for bodily injury resulting from reasonable force to protect persons or property. A swordsman advancing toward Jones gives the adjuster a reason to examine that language.

It does not establish that lethal force was reasonable. Distance, the immediacy of the threat, witness accounts, surrounding events and applicable law still matter. The claim file does not resolve those facts or the foreign country’s self-defense law.

There are two steps to keep distinct: satisfying the coverage grant and determining whether an exclusion removes otherwise applicable coverage. An exception to an exclusion does not, on its own, establish an accidental occurrence.

An overseas injury and a U.S. lawsuit

The place of injury creates another question. The base form can extend to certain overseas activities of a person whose home is within the specified domestic territory and who is away briefly on the named insured’s business. It also includes conditions concerning where responsibility is determined in a suit on the merits or an insurer-approved settlement.

A U.S. filing alone does not satisfy every requirement. Jones’s home and trip duration need confirmation. A short expedition and a long foreign assignment should not be treated as the same exposure.

So does the museum get a defense

On the abbreviated facts, we cannot responsibly give an unconditional yes or no. That is a specific finding about what is missing, not a reason to stop the analysis.

The museum’s separate position must be evaluated. The occurrence requirement remains unresolved. The reasonable-force question requires evidence. Territory and the full issued contract also need review, including any endorsements addressing assault, firearms, professional services or foreign operations.

Under the California duty-to-defend standard discussed in Montrose Chemical v. Superior Court, the question is potential coverage. The complaint and facts known outside it can establish that potential. Once established, an insurer cannot avoid its defense duty merely because coverage remains disputed or indemnity might ultimately fail.

If the pleading and known facts establish potential covered museum liability, the insurer must defend, subject to an appropriate reservation where warranted. An already-triggered defense cannot wait until every factual or coverage question is answered.

If the only established theory is purely vicarious liability for the deliberate shooting, the occurrence issue still requires analysis under applicable law. The museum’s lack of personal involvement does not automatically answer it.

What the agent should do with this

Help the museum tender promptly and provide the complete complaint, policy and endorsements. Ask the adjuster to explain the museum’s coverage separately from Jones’s. Preserve the expedition instructions, witness information and records of the overseas trip.

Then set expectations accurately: a defense is different from a promise to pay damages. The insurer may need to defend a potentially covered claim while reserving its position on ultimate indemnity.

The question worth asking is concrete: “What allegations or known facts create potential coverage for the museum, and which policy provisions affect that potential?” That invites a more useful discussion than “Was the shooting intentional?” alone.

The movie gives us a memorable confrontation. The claim teaches us to read the insuring agreement, evaluate each insured and distinguish the defense decision from the final payment decision.

Download the Raiders Claim File

Our six-page claim file maps the policy provisions, explains the cited cases and identifies the evidence still needed. It also presents an optional independent-negligence variation as a separate teaching alternative, not a fact added to the original complaint.

Fictional educational scenario inspired by Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981). Not an actual insurer decision. The issued policy, endorsements, facts and governing law control a real claim. California is used here only as a coverage-law illustration. Full authorities and limitations appear in the accompanying claim file.

Next
Next

Eleanor Was Stolen. Does That Make Every Dent a Theft Loss?